Fin

Watching the ending was unpleasant. Seeing four ceramic vessels containing the remains was unnerving.

And inspiring.

The sad and maddening silver lining is that I have finally found time to work. Between this last week and the time of my critique at the end of this month I will have more than doubled my output in ceramics. This week I fired only my second bisque of the semester and will be firing only my second cone ten in the next week or so. Hopefully I will be firing lil Eddie at least once every two weeks until the end of the semester.

By next weekend I hope to have drafted a couple of ideas for a sagger kiln as well as built a few different sized ceramic saggers to place items in to fire. I will be crafting these saggers either out of a very groggy clay I have now or will be creating a new clay body out of a combination of a few sagger clay recepies.

The bottles are coming together faster, thinner, and better crafted with each new vessel made. There are still weak spots but I am quicker to notice them and once noticed, am becoming more skilled at making corrections.

20131014-000054.jpg
Late night portrait of the artist in hallway

20131014-000154.jpg
Burning inside.

20131014-000230.jpg
Bfaicus collaborationis accidentus. (Miri phelps leftover bisque cone 10 glazed by me)

20131014-000419.jpg
Two new halves waiting to leather harden.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment